National Merit Semifinalists Gather for Recognition Ceremony


Zack Catuogno

44 National Merit Scholars were recognized at a special breakfast in the gym on Sept. 12.

This year’s National Merit Semifinalists gathered together in the small gym on Thursday, Sept. 12 to receive recognition for their accomplishment. Each of these students received excellent scores on the PSAT, which they took last October. The ceremony began with speeches from Principal Mario Acosta and Ms. Holly Browning. The group of 44 students were also greeted with a surprise visit from Superintendent Steve Flores to celebrate the occasion. After the speeches, each student took an individual picture with Dr. Acosta and lined up on the bleachers for a traditional group picture. Following the ceremony, the students were rewarded with a light breakfast.


National Merit Semifinalists:

Vikas Burugu

Santiago Campos-Araoz

Sandra Cong

Andrew Ditterline

Dylan Dong

April Gao

Helena Greebe

Shreyes Kaliyur

Purva Kantawala

Mahir Kota

Ananth Kumar

Davina Le

Brian Lee 

Michelle Lee

Sophia Li

Andrew Lin

Anish Maddipoti 

Anirudh Margam 

Anaita Merchant

Adam Morris

Anurima Mummaneni

Saavan Myneni

Emily Nguyen

Brandom Qin

Devin Qu

Harsha Rajesh

Ajit Ramamohan 

Anusha Saha

Mihir Shah

Riya Shah

Rehana Shaik

Daniel Shi

Daniel Sialm

Berea Suen

Sydney Thornborrow

Sindhuja Uppuluri 

Jasmine Wang

Benjamin Willingham

Erika Yao 

Melody Yin

Jeffrey You

Alice Zhang

Yucheng Zhang 

Joyce Zhuang