Debaters Achieve Success at Vista Ridge Tournament

Navigate Left
Navigate Right
  • Jeff Freeman ’21, Mahir Kota ’20, Nathan Fang ’22, Rohan Bajpai ’22, and Sidh Pandit ’21 take a photo together. Pandit and Sruthi Ramaswamy ’20 came second place in the Public Forum division.

    Sruthi Ramaswamy
  • Public Forum debaters prepare for their next round. At this tournament, there were three preliminary rounds in the PF division before advancing to quarter-finals.

Navigate Left
Navigate Right

Vista Ridge High School was filled with competitors vying state points as they competed from one round to the next on Saturday, Oct. 19. Westwood debaters achieved success in numerous events, and many students worked towards their own personal goals as well.

“I joined debate because I wanted to improve my speaking skills and my presentation skills,” Srivaishnavi Marreddy ‘22 said. “And the reason I’m continuing it, is because I really enjoy the competition.”

The results for the tournament can be found below.

Varsity Policy (CX) Debate

Sean He – Warren Huang
Rohan Reddy – Brandon Shin

Novice Policy (CX) Debate

Aria Merchant – Amber Xiao
James Li – Kevin Han

Varsity Lincoln Douglas (LD) Debate
1st Place: Brian Jeon
2nd Place: Eric Gao
Quarter-Finalists: Shreya Tiwari

Novice Lincoln Douglas (LD) Debate
Semi-Finalists: Lasya Adivi
Quarter-Finalists: Grace Zhu

Varsity Public Forum (PF) Debate
1st Place: Bernice Chen – Justin Xiao
2nd Place: Sruthi Ramaswamy – Sidh Pandit

Joshua King – Akhil Bhale
Samit Deshmukh – Daniel Tehrani

Foreign Extemporaneous Speaking
2nd Place: Anurima Mummaneni
3rd Place: Tim Ma
4th Place: Anuja Uppuluri
5th Place: Sonny Stenson

Aman Tewari
Arjun Raman
Nikhil Reddy

Domestic Extemporaneous Speaking
3rd Place: Clementine Larrouilh
4th Place: Olivia Yang

Brian Jeon
Rishob Dasgupta
Srivaishnavi Marreddy
Sraavya Danala
Sneha Bhale
Hrushikesh Saranu
Caroline Jia
Pranav Srinivasan

Novice Extemporaneous Speaking
4th Place: Sanjay Amirthraj
5th Place: Jyotsna Arunkumar
7th Place: Anya Yaksh

Tori Xiao
Lasya Adivi
Yashwitha Thindi
Ana Vines
Anna Irmetova
Wesley Yeung
Austin Grimaldi
Riya Shah
Gabriel Trout
Shreya Tiwari
Inesh Nambiar
Aaditya Ganesan
Jessamine Qu
Rishi Baranga
Prithiv Premkumar