Election Day Brings New and Returning Local Government to the Community


Hannah McDonough

On Tuesday, Nov. 8, voters lined up at the polls, casting their votes for governor, mayor, and RRISD Board of Trustees, among other positions on the ballot.

In light of Tuesday’s election, the community saw some changes in local politics, as well as some incumbent leadership continuing for another term. 

The race for governor resulted in Governor Greg Abbott’s reelection. His biggest contender was Beto O’Rourke, a former member of Congress and the El Paso City Council. Texas historically votes Republican, a trend unbroken with Governor Abbott’s reelection.

The mayoral race will continue in a runoff election between Kirk Watson and Celia Israel in December. While these two candidates had the most votes, neither of them received more than 50% of the votes, a requirement to be elected mayor.

Three incumbent members of the RRISD Board of Trustees were reelected, while two new members will also be joining the board. Amber Feller will continue her term in Place 3, Amy Weir in Place 5, and Tiffanie Harrison in Place 6. Alicia Markum and Estevan Zarate will be joining the board in places 1 and 4, respectively.